more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

Coming Attractions: 250 Films

For the first time in many years, I will have 2013 largely free to devote to whatever I want.  No more school, no more books, no more teachers’ dirty looks; also, one hopes, no more working two jobs, seven days a week. (2010 was not a fun year.) I will, for once, have plenty of guilt-free leisure time.

Typically, when I have leisure time – guilt-free or -laden – I fill it with plenty of nothin’.  However, since I want to be sure that this little blog has plenty of content, I will instead import from Tumblr the 250 Films Challenge.  Over the course of the year, I will watch 250 films and post reviews, reflections, reactions, whatever seems to suit me and the film.  Even if I post no more than 1000 words on each film, I will keep myself quite (happily, I hope) busy for the year.

There is, of course, some structure to the challenge.  It’s not just a 250-film free-for-all.  Here’s the breakdown of what the year ahead will look like:

  • 50 favorite films
  • 50 films that are new to me (and this is going to be a SHAMEFUL list, because there are far more than 50 really great, really important films that I’ve somehow missed)
  • 50 Pre-Code films
  • 50 silent films
  • 50 foreign films

I don’t think I’ll proceed in any particular order, although I’ll try to post my favorite film of all time on New Year’s Day (assuming I can decide on just one film – easier said than done) and then go from there.

Anyway, if you mysterious readers out there have any suggestions for films that you think I should include as part of the 250, let me know!  I have a list all sorted out, but I am quite amenable to making changes to pretty much everything except the 50 favorites.

Here’s to a filmy new year.

Vintage-New-year-789524

One comment on “Coming Attractions: 250 Films

  1. Pingback: Coming attractions, for real | more stars than in the heavens

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 29, 2012 by and tagged , , , .
