more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

The Beautiful People: Fred Astaire

  Fred-Astair1

Fred Astaire, light of my life, fire of my loins.  My sin, my soul.  Fred Ah-stare: the tip of the teeth kissing the lower lip as the mouth opens to sigh, then to hiss as the tongue taps the teeth and to sigh again.  Fred.  Ah.  Stare.

He was Fred, plain Fred, in the morning, standing five feet nine in one sock.

tumblr_m5s7p3FNcs1ruu3oro1_500

He was Guy Holden in The Gay Divorcee.

the-gay-divorcee

He was Lucky Garnett at the Silver Sandal.

Swing-Time-Fred-Astaire-Ginger-Rogers-1936-Wallpaper-Photo-2

He was Frederick Austerlitz on the dotted line.

fred

But in my heart he was always the most charming, delightful, romantic, wonderful, beautiful gentleman I’ved ever had the privilege to behold.

What else can I say?  I just love him.  He’s the male ideal that I understand no one can fulfill, perhaps not even Austerlitz himself.  He was the twentieth century’s greatest dancer, as crowned by everyone from Barishnikov to Nureyev to Michael Jackson.  He was also one of its greatest gentlemen, as confirmed in countless stories from countless Hollywood types.

If you want to nitpick and ask why this scrawny man with a receding hairline is my #1 hot slice of all time, all I can tell you is that my mistress’s eyes are nothing like the sun.  Who needs objective beauty?  Besides, Astaire makes everything – courting, dancing, getting dressed, making a drink – look absolutely effortless.  You can always see the mechanics at work with Gene Kelly, but with Fred – even though there are infinitely many stories about how hard he worked, and what a fierce perfectionist he was, it looks like dancing is no more difficult than walking for him.  It’s like he’s throwing it away, like he has billions in store and can easily toss off a few million here and there – an aristocrat of physicality, as it were.

Furthermore, something I absolutely love about him is that he was a superior dancer to many of his partners.  Not all, mind you, but many.  When you watch his dances – with Ginger Rogers, especially, who was rather rough when they started together – it’s very easy to look mainly at his partner.  I don’t think it’s just because the women are pretty and wearing fancy dresses.  I think it’s because he specifically choreographed in order to highlight his partners’ various strengths:

Ginger’s wonderfully supple back…

rogg017

Cyd Charisse’s phenomenal legs…

bandwagon1

Audrey Hepburn’s delicacy and ballet training…

tumblr_md1f8rZq9H1qzor1no1_500

And he let them shine.  When he’s dancing with someone, he never showboats – as Gene Kelly does in his partner dances, I feel – even if he could easily have danced circles around her.  That kind of generosity and lack of vanity is rare in anyone, and especially in a true Hollywood legend.  What a guy.

tumblr_li5civODBS1qaa67q

2 comments on “The Beautiful People: Fred Astaire

  1. sequinsandcherryblossom
    February 21, 2013

    You are so right! Fred was the most magical, effortless dancer. I’ve started to learn tap and the more I learn the more I can understand what he’s doing and how exceptional he is. One of a kind.

    • mcwhirk
      February 21, 2013

      I know! The very few dance classes I’ve attempted in my life have been enough to teach me that what looks like nothing when he does it is actually REALLY REALLY HARD!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2013 by and tagged , , , .
