more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

Adapt or Die: What a Fairy Tale

hanna-movie-saoirse-ronan-13-600x398

The TV programming gods have been quite kind to me lately – a little kindness that I very much appreciate, especially this week.  In addition to the usual proliferation of Law & Order: SVU marathons, Golden Girls marathons, daily doses of The Barefoot Contessa (truly the champagne of cooking shows), and all the Phantom Gourmet I can stand, I’ve also happened upon The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001), Lawrence of Arabia (1962), and tonight’s gem: Hanna (2011).  All I know about Joe Wright is that he’s directed one literary adaptation I know I should see – Atonement (2007); and two I’d rather ingest cyanide than bother with – Pride and Prejudice (2005) and Anna Karenina (2012) – although those who know about these things tell me the latter was actually really good, to which I am tempted to say, “bah! humbug.”

But I really, really, REALLY like Hanna.

Somewhere in Finland, Erik Heller (Eric Bana) lives with his teenage daughter Hanna (Saoirse Ronan).  They have lived in total isolation for nearly her entire life.  During that time, Erik has taught Hanna everything she knows: hunting, languages, history, geography, fitness, hand-to-hand combat, and a thorough backstory.  In short: he’s trained her to be an assassin, operating by the motto “adapt or die.” One day, she tells him that she’s ready – ready to go out into the world.  She flips a switch on a transmitter in their cabin – the only sign of the twenty-first century, or even the twentieth, in the entire house – thus alerting the C.I.A. to their presence.  Agent Marissa Wiegler (Cate Blanchett) is personally interested in the Hellers’ case, and she wants them both – dead (Erik) and alive (Hanna).

blanchett-hanna

From there, it’s a race to Berlin, the Hellers’ appointed rendezvous.  Erik takes a more direct route.  Hanna escapes from a desert government facility, meets up with a silly British family on holiday in Morocco, travels with them to Spain, and then kicks ass across Europe.

You might not get this from the above description, but it’s all a fairy tale.  The lovely young princess ventures out into the world, pursued by a jealous evil queen and a team of big bad wolves.  She fights through ice and fire, forest and ocean, and grows up in the process.  The chosen location for father and daughter’s reunion is an abandoned Grimm’s Fairy Tale-themed amusement park, just in case you weren’t quite getting it.

hannalede

Don’t let that fool you, though: for an action flick that’s also a fairy tale, it is impressively subtle and quick.  Standard-issue action films, for instance, can very often lumber along, struggling under the weight of their own generic conventions: the wisecracking, the explosions, the fistfights, the machismo.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Die Hard as much as anyone, but Hanna is a breath of fresh air for its adeptness in juggling kickass fight scenes and actually advancing the plot.  Maybe it’s because Hanna is a girl.  Take note, Hollywood.  And all too often, films with a hint of the fairy tale get bogged down in the most turgid Freudian symbolism.  Ohhh, look, it’s about her period.  Ohhhh, the sword is a penis.  Big bad wolf: rapist/father/lover.  Blah, blah, blah.  While you could inject all kinds of psychobabble into Hanna and make it stick if you really felt like it, the movie itself doesn’t invite any such drivel.  Thank heaven.

hanna-photo-cate-blanchett-tom-hollander

Other great things about Hanna: the score, by the Chemical Brothers.  The Wikipedia article about the film, rather hilariously, calls it “loud, thumping, deeply funky music.” A hysterically funny description, but not inaccurate.  I get this one stuck in my head all the time, and whistle it all the time – just like the biggest and baddest wolf in the piece, Isaacs (Tom Hollander – whom The Thick of It fans might barely recognize as The Fucker from S3E8).  The performances are all sterling as well.  In the company of vets like Blanchett, Hollander, and Bana, Ronan not only holds her own; she holds her own as an actress, and physically seems every inch the assassin.  This is one of those movies that makes me feel woefully inadequate in my own physical culture pursuits.  Yeah, I go to the gym, but could I fight my way out of an underground bunker?  Could I outrun a C.I.A. operative in a creepy theme park and then fire an arrow precisely?  Could I escape several other fellow trained assassins by racing around shipping containers while they were being loaded onto a freighter?

Hanna

Probably not.  Must start doing more varied workouts.

Anyway, TV gods, thanks for the treat.  I am still and always funemployed, so keep ’em comin’.

3 comments on “Adapt or Die: What a Fairy Tale

  1. Karen
    April 8, 2013

    I loved Hanna! Yes, brilliant use of music. Makes me want to dig out my old Chemical Brothers CD.

    I liked Atonement very much, despite Keira Knightley. I did not care for his Pride & Prejudice. It was okay. It’s been done better. I may at some point see Anna Karenina, but Jude Law *and* Keira Knightley…leave me very meh. (What is his deal with Knightley?)

    But yes–Hanna. LOVE.

    • mcwhirk
      April 8, 2013

      I GET SO MAD ABOUT KEIRA KNIGHTLEY APPEARING IN PERIOD FILMS!!! UGH.

      I don’t really bear her any ill will. She seems like a nice enough girl. But she is, has been, and probably will continue to be, whisper-thin. If she were actually alive at the time of Pride and Prejudice, or Anna Karenina, or The Duchess, or whatever else – she wouldn’t have been alive for long because she would have been dying of consumption if she were that thin. Was Kate Winslet too busy to play Anna? I mean, she’s described in the book as voluptuous and statuesque, if my memory doesn’t fail me. The movie is trying to do something different, I hear, but is one of those things gross historical inaccuracy and a complete disregard for Tolstoy’s characterization?

      Apparently.

      UGH.

      • Karen
        April 10, 2013

        Ha! I would rather see Kate Winslet play all the parts they give to Knightley! I just don’t think Knightley is a very good actor.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2013 by and tagged , , , .
