more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

Calling all units…

I am asking YOU, dear readers, to help me.  It’s not a big deal, but it is something for which I would like your input.  My new job is at an ESL school, and every Monday, we play a movie after classes are done.  The DVD collection at the school is very small, and there’s talk of expanding it.  You can imagine that my eyes did something like this.

vlcsnap-345156

 

Now, I have my little list that I’m compiling: movies that I think provide not only a good chance for the kids (I call them kids, but they are mostly grown-ups) to practice their listening and reading (we play all the movies with English subtitles), but also more of a taste of American culture.  As you can guess, my tastes run to the old-timey, which not everyone is going to care about.

And so, dear readers, I ask you for your ideas.  What movies do you think would be good both as practice and as a fun way to spend an afternoon?  You don’t even have to think in edifying terms – just movies that you think would appeal to a wide variety of ages and cultural backgrounds.  All help is greatly appreciated, especially because I still have to continue my apartment search (ugh).

3 comments on “Calling all units…

  1. Karen
    May 24, 2013

    Nothing is popping into my head immediately, but…movies where people don’t speak too quickly (I know, ridiculous) is the first thing that popped into my head. Y’know I’m watching a lot of Waltz stuff (duh) in German with no subtitles and I’m SLOWLY getting to understand more and more. I thought Parole Chicago would be easy because they’re just little half hour shows and so formulaic, but weirdly, it seemed like I was understanding more of Tigeraugen sehen besser (also formulaic, I guess…).

    Will the class just watch the film straight through, or do you pause along the way for questions/speaking practice?

    I’ll let you know if I have any great ideas. That’s so cool you get to add to the film library–you’ll do a smashing job!

    • mcwhirk
      May 25, 2013

      Waltz-related linguistic activities ABSOLUTELY count as language training. Formulaic may be the best way to go…that way, they’ll be interested enough in the plot (due to its familiarity) to pay attention to the words. If they show up. It’s entirely extracurricular and optional, so I’ll have to come up with some really good ideas to get (as Australians say) bums on seats.

  2. Paul Rafferty
    May 26, 2013

    Reblogged this on ENGLISH LANGUAGE REVIEW 4U.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2013 by and tagged , , , .
