more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

Willkommen 2: Freshly Pressed Edition

Merlin_1620892_image_1024w

 

Well.  Whodathunk.  The mysterious but benevolent gods at WordPress deemed my Pacific Rim review worthy of that most elusive and esteemed moniker, Freshly Pressed.  Do I know what it means?  No.  Am I thrilled to death?  You bet.

Since more people than just my mom are going to be passing through here, I suppose I’ll introduce myself.  By day, I am a lowly administratrix at an ESL school.  By training and by inclination, however, I am a cinephile, a film fan, a movie-lover, a dreamer of the golden dream.  Whatever you want to call it.

If you came here for my unusually timely review, I should clarify that I’m actually rarely up on current cinema.  Or even cinema released during my lifetime…or since the demise of the studio system.  My favorite movies are mostly from the 1920s and 1930s – and mostly from Hollywood or Weimar-era Berlin.  I am trying hard to catch up on all those millions of movies I’ve missed by having such a narrow focus, but even within those two quite narrow decades and two filmmaking capitals, I’ve got a lot still to see.

I’m delighted that so many more people than usual are stopping by, and I will remain delighted with my transitory new visitors.  If any of you decide to stick around, I just may die of happiness.

More movie stuff coming up later today – but I did want to say hello, thanks, love you all, hope you enjoy.

Love,
Amelia

3 comments on “Willkommen 2: Freshly Pressed Edition

  1. wordpooh
    July 16, 2013

    Congrats ma petite fille!

  2. Ruth
    July 17, 2013

    Congrats on the Freshly Pressed (I’m not sure how it’s bestowed either, but it’s a good way to find random new blogs to like). It appears I have different taste in movies than you, as my favorites are mostly from the last twenty or thirty years, but I’m open to learning more about the 20s and 30s – this looks like a good place to do it. 🙂
    I recently posted on my love of movies, and thoughts on Pacific Rim, here: http://roadonmyjourney.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/random/

  3. Karen
    July 22, 2013

    I missed this…but wanted to send my belated congratulations!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2013 by and tagged , , .
