more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

Meet the Blogger 2: Electric Boogaloo

Well.  Hello.  I suppose I’ve been Freshly Pressed.  While I don’t suppose that any of you internet strangers will stick around for long, I figured I’d re-introduce myself, just for the hell of it.  And because I am as bored as I am pretentious, I will do it with various components from Proust’s Questionnaire.  Enjoy!

Puttin' on my finest for y'all.

Puttin’ on my finest for y’all.

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

Loving someone/something indifferent.  I don’t mean this in a “friendzoned” way, I promise.  I mean this in a crisis-of-faith way.

Where would you like to live?

Australia.

What is your idea of earthly happiness?

There isn’t any other kind of happiness than earthly, as far as I know, so all I want is someone wonderful who understands me.  And cooks.

To what faults do you feel most indulgent?

You know how Octave (in The Rules of the Game) says, “The terrible thing about life is this: everyone has his reasons.” I tend to keep that in mind.

Who are your favorite heroes of fiction?

Overall: Nabokov’s Pnin.  For fantasy reasons: Austen’s Captain Wentworth.  Half-agony, half-hope, 100% turn-on.

thathamiltonwomanpdvd028-

Who are your favorite characters in history?

Can I say Laurence Olivier as Lord Nelson?  Can that be a character from history, since it’s a fictionalized movie character version of a historical figure?  And a hella fine one at that?

Who are your favorite heroines in real life?

My grandmother.

Who are your favorite heroines of fiction?

The usual suspects: Elizabeth Bennet, Jane Eyre, Edna Pontellier….

Your favorite painter?

Sometimes Magritte, sometimes Renoir, sometimes Vermeer.

Your favorite musician?

Franz Motherfucking Liszt.  Imagine those hands all over you.  Yowza!

82304-050-242D7462

The quality you most admire in a man?

Compassion, understanding, sense of humor, stronger and taller than I am.

The quality you most admire in a woman?

Eh.

Your favorite virtue?

Enthusiasm.

Your favorite occupation?

Madcap heiress, c. 1930s screwball comedy.

godfrey

Who would you have liked to be?

Someone born into high society intelligentsia in 1900 or so.

Your most marked characteristic?

Sense of humor.

What do you most value in your friends?

Antics.

What is your principle defect?

Laziness, weak will, obsessive tendencies, convincing myself that a lie is true.

What would you like to be?

Happy, loved, secure.  Rich.

What is your favorite color?

Ocean colors, followed by jewel tones.

What is your favorite flower?

Sunflowers, lilacs, lilies of the valley, wild roses, daisies.

What is your favorite bird?

I am sentimental about cardinals, because they’re my grandparents’ favorites.

Who are your favorite prose writers?

Nabokov.

tumblr_n11zdcoIwz1qdgj2no1_500

Who are your favorite poets?

Dorothy Parker and whoever wrote all those dirty limericks my grandfather taught me.

Who are your favorite heroines of history?

Greta Garbo, Ingrid Bergman, Ava Gardner, Vivien Leigh, Marilyn Monroe.  Take THAT.

What is it you most dislike?

Cruelty.

What historical figures do you most despise?

Well, you know, Hitler and Stalin were pretty bad.

What event in military history do you most admire?

The Winter War.  LOOK IT UP.

What natural gift would you most like to possess?

I’d like to be able to dance like Sylvie Guillem, or Cyd Charisse at the very least.

tumblr_mck5cgcbHQ1qz9e4so1_r1_500

How would you like to die?

Quickly.

What is your present state of mind?

Anticipatory.

What is your motto?  

Keep moving.

One comment on “Meet the Blogger 2: Electric Boogaloo

  1. barbarian49
    April 9, 2014

    Hello and thanks very much for the greeting! I’m a very new blogger – in fact I don’t really know what blogging is all about, yet, so I’m looking around to see what other people have done.

    Your site looks rather different to most others and I like the film allusions – there’s a lot to read yet, but your introduction was a good idea. The questionnaire was amusing and interesting – a good way to show what your ideas are. I think it’s going to take me quite a while to reach this standard!

    Still, I’m semi-retired already and plan to retire completely in a few months and then I’ll have lots of time to work through the WordPress tutorials and study good blogs like yours. Maybe in another year, I’ll have something worth looking at…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2014 by and tagged , , .
