more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

the way-back machine

407925_521425966711_1361686447_n

Four years ago today, I landed in Australia.  I was there for just over two years.

It would be disingenuous to say that all my time there was good, or that I was happy the entire time, but I did love it there.  For a long time after I left, I wanted nothing more than to go back – and since Boston has been eaten alive by winter, it’s been an even more tempting prospect – but always with a sense of wanting to regain the past, wanting things to remain as they’d been, wanting to ignore all the bad and live in a dream that wasn’t even true at the time.  You know what “nostalgia” means, in its Greek roots: the pain of homecoming.  Something like that.

380478_519140516771_93159586_n

Anyway, I don’t feel that way anymore.  I would certainly love to go back to Australia.  If things really go to hell here in America (and that doesn’t seem terribly unlikely), I’d even try to move my family and friends back to Oz with me; in the meantime, I’d settle for a long vacation.  It’s a great country, and I was lucky to be there, and I think of it (and most of its people) very fondly.

2 comments on “the way-back machine

  1. Brian
    February 16, 2015

    Hi mcwhirk
    The big chill you are experiencing must be a ripper. In regards to Oz you are welcome back anytime.Melbourne has a white nights festival (sounds Russian) this weekend which will be fun. http://whitenightmelbourne.com.au/
    Hope the weather the MBTA and your pollies treat you better.
    Cheers Brian
    PS You could always watch Wolf Creek to see how things could get worse in a warmer climate.
    Cheers Brian

    • mcwhirk
      February 16, 2015

      I know of Wolf Creek, and I am pretty sure it’s beyond my capabilities. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2015 by and tagged .
