more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

a quickie

People has a brief story about Molly Kelly, a powerlifter who graduated from Boston University this past spring.  Without giving away too much about where you’re likely to find me, I used to see her working out in the gym I attend all the time (haven’t seen her since the spring, but I hope she comes back).  I’m pleased to see that she’s a minor celebrity now.  She’s absolutely right about what lifting can do for your self-esteem: when you see what your body can do, it shoots body-image problems right out the window.  It has for me, anyway. (And believe me, I am nowhere near as strong as she is. Working on it, though.) It also makes me aware of how ridiculous it is to pretend that women are inherently weak.  Are there guys who lift more than I do?  Yeah.  Are there also guys who lift much, much less?  You bet your flat little ass there are.

rs_634x1024-150713081934-634.Serena-Williams-Wimbledon-Ball.jl.071315

This all comes on the heels of a justifiably angry piece in The Guardian about female athletes and the “femininity police”: amazing athletes like Serena Williams are reduced down to their fuckability, time and again, by too many people.  In Williams’s case, the comments are almost always racist as well; in most female athletes’ cases, the comments are rooted in the most pathetic, limp-dick misogyny.  Sorry you don’t lift, bro.  Not my problem.  Fuck off.

Anyway, the point is that females are strong as hell.  Never doubt that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2015 by and tagged .
