more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

not laboring

As I’ve mentioned, my boyfriend and I moved into a new apartment recently.  Last night, we took advantage of the long weekend (thanks, unions!) to throw a little housewarming party.  It went something like this:

We are not party people, so it was all rather exhausting to prepare and set up (for him, mostly, because he’s much more of a Doer and I’m much more of a Dreamer and Speculator and Observer and Procrastinator) – but we had fun.

We also had LOTS of alcohol, for which my liver is cursing me today.  Oh, well.  Below, see the (one) photo I took of two of the drinks on offer, which I did actually make:

I hear the sangria was good, although I only tried a little bit of it.  I was much more taken by the gin punch – the recipe for which you can find here, if you’re thirsty.  It’s very, very boozy.  Be warned.

Anyway, thanks to our very generous friends, we now have a very fully stocked bar.  To wit:

  • Tanqueray gin
  • Short Path gin (locally made!)
  • Patrón Silver tequila (oh god)
  • St. Germain
  • Laphroig scotch
  • Oban scotch
  • Some sort of dark rum
  • The cheapest brandy offered by Martignetti’s (the sangria recipe called for it…if you want brandy for any reason, hmu)
  • Bulleit bourbon
  • Shiraz
  • Sauvignon blanc
  • Beer, beer, and more beer

We sampled much of the above last night, and we also demolished a magnum of cava.  As I said: my liver is mad.  I’ve had the TV on since I woke up, as background noise more than anything, because I’m not especially able to focus on much right now.  No movie reviews for me today.  I will somehow scrape myself off the floor, and go to the gym, and sweat everything out, but in the meantime: oof.

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

4 comments on “not laboring

  1. ridiculoushat
    September 7, 2015

    I’m so proud. Also those scotches are excellent… and that tequila is dangerous.

    • mcwhirk
      September 8, 2015

      Thank you, sensei. If/when you’re in Boston, come over for a drink (or six).

  2. Karen
    September 8, 2015

    That gin punch looks amazing! Nice friends/bar supplies, too.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2015 by and tagged .
