more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

hip hooray

This beautiful lady was a rescue, so you can imagine how strongly I feel about these things.

This beautiful lady was a rescue, so you can imagine how strongly I feel about these things.

Dear friends, enemies, and whoever else reads this folderol:

Today is my 30th birthday.  I spent the weekend celebrating with friends and family; tonight, my boyfriend will take me out for as nice a dinner as a Monday night allows.  I feel very happy and loved as I leave behind my Roaring Twenties and move into my Dirty Thirties. (Indeed, now I’m officially in my Pre-Code years – so it should be fun.)

I realize that most of the people reading this – if I’m judging right by the blog’s stats, which indicate that many more people frequent this corner of the internet, from many more parts of the world than I’ve ever visited – are not people who know me personally.  As such, I have no pretense to think that any of you would have considered getting me a gift.  Nevertheless, something happened over the weekend, and I think it’s as good an excuse to ask for something as any.  The Sweetpea Friends of Rutland shelter – a no-kill shelter in Massachusetts that takes in “death row” animals to ensure they find a good home – suffered a devastating fire last night.  They’ve set up a GoFundMe page so they can try to take care of the animals who survived, and try to rebuild their lost shelter.  There’s also a donation page on their website, if you prefer PayPal.  I would ask that you consider donating to them, or to the animal shelter/advocacy group of your choice, in honor of my birthday.  I may not mean much to you, and that’s fine, but animals mean a lot to me.

Some other good animal groups:

And of course, there are many more – probably plenty in your hometown that need support of some kind.  If you can afford to spare anything, and if you enjoy the nonsense I spout on this blog, please consider donating something to one of these groups.  The animals need your help, and that’s really all I want for my birthday.

2 comments on “hip hooray

  1. ridiculoushat
    December 11, 2015

    catching up on entries i’m behind on… don’t have much wiggle room in my finances right now but i put a little sumpin down for you and for the animals. happy birthday na-bro-kov.

    • mcwhirk
      December 11, 2015

      you are a gem. the animals (and I, a human animal) thank you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 23, 2015 by and tagged , .
