more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

2015 in review

It is time.

Please note: a more detailed version of this is also on my Facebook, so if you’re friends with me there, and you feel like you’ve got deja vu all over again, that’s why.  I think.  I mean, you could just be crazy, too.

What did you do in 2015 that you’d never done before?
– Went to the emergency room, lolololol. It turns out that form really is important in deadlifts (and all other weightlifting), and you can hurt yourself pretty badly if you fuck up. Fear not, gentle readers: it was merely painful. I am basically all better now.
– Found and moved into a beautiful apartment that I share with the best guy in the universe (sorry, other guys).
– Went to a Red Sox game at Fenway Park. I’m a delinquent Bostonian, I know.
– Survived Snowmageddon 2015 and the accompanying MBTApocalypse.
– Mostly kept up with maintaining a blog about movies and TV shows – crummy as the content may be, at least there is usually new content every couple of days.
– Made it past 200 pounds on my squat and deadlift.
– Became Fairy Dogmother to the beautiful and perfect pretty pitty princess, Marmalade.

tumblr_nybpjihLaD1uxymj8o5_500
What countries did you visit?
Uh…you know what, I think New Hampshire should count as a foreign country.

What date from 2015 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Our lease began on August 15th, and we officially moved in on August 17th. Pretty good days. There was also the day Lucky died, and that was a much worse day.

Whose behavior merited celebration?
Matt’s and Lucky’s. (Incidentally, Lucky had a HUGE crush on Matt, and was always disappointed when I came home without him.)

12002207_578655483301_2537697767254842185_n
Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
There are just so many worthy contenders for that title. I think I’d have to do a March Madness-style bracket system of elimination to determine the “winner” – but really, the number of bad people has seemed much higher than the number of good people this year.

Where did most of your money go?
Moving expenses, rent, booze, food, phone, student loans. How very grownup.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Living with Matt. Mad Max: Fury Road. Literally every dog I saw but ESPECIALLY Lucky and Marmalade.

What song will always remind you of 2015?
“I Love You, Honeybear” by Father John Misty…

…and “Death” by White Lies.

Compared to this time last year, are you
i. happier or sadder?: Happier, more confident, harder better faster stronger.
ii. thinner or fatter?: The same size, but more muscular.
iii. richer or poorer?: Richer, amazingly enough.

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Reading. Matt reads constantly, and goes through a few books a month, and I can’t bring myself to read a chapter of something before bed. Loser.

How will you be spending Christmas?
With my boyf’s family.

How will you be spending New Years Eve?
No idea! Possibly with my cousins back at Grey Gardens; possibly at Matt’s bar; possibly by myself on the couch.

Did you fall in love in 2015?
With Marmalade!

12347575_581170523141_5568651624253700939_n
Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I don’t think I feel that strongly about any of the people I dislike, but I sure do dislike a lot of people.

What was the best book you read?
I read and edited a first draft of a book that my fella wrote, so that’s the clear winner.

What was your greatest musical discovery?
Not really a discovery, but I did find out how much I like Father John Misty this year.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2015?
Conceptually, somewhat like Vincent Adultman (except I’m a stack of puppies instead of children).

tumblr_nbrh0934yV1tljxpko1_1280
What kept you sane?
My boyfriend, exercise, and alcohol.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Oscar Isaac hnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnggggghhhh

tumblr_nx8bwl3zN11taxfvzo3_250
Who was the best new person you met?
Marmalade.

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
Oh, honeybear, honeybear, honeybear
Mascara, blood, ash and cum
On the Rorschach sheets where we make love
Honeybear, honeybear, honeybear
Fuck the world, damn straight malaise
It may be just us who feel this way

But don’t ever doubt this, my steadfast conviction
My love, you’re the one I want to watch the ship go down with
The future can’t be real, I barely know how long a moment is
Unless we’re naked, getting high on the mattress
While the global market crashes
As death fills the streets we’re garden-variety oblivious
You grab my hand and say in an “I told you so” voice:
“It’s just how we expected”

Everything is doomed
And nothing will be spared
But I love you, honeybear

You’re bent over the altar
And the neighbors are complaining
That the misanthropes next door
Are probably conceiving a Damien
Don’t they see the darkness rising?
Good luck fingering oblivion
We’re getting out now while we can
You’re welcome boys, have the last of the smokes and chicken
Just one Cadillac will do to get us out to where we’re going
I’ve brought my mother’s depression
You’ve got your father’s scorn and a wayward aunt’s schizophrenia

But everything is fine
Don’t give into despair
‘Cause I love you, honeybear

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 9, 2015 by and tagged , , .
