more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

seeking recommendations

Like this, but real.

Like this, but real.

Hello, readers.  Allegedly, there are quite a lot of you, and perhaps some of you can help.  I would like to find books about German actors, directors, etc., who stayed behind in Nazi Germany and made movies (for as long as they were allowed) for Goebbels.  Please note: I’m not talking about people like Leni Riefenstahl, whose career skyrocketed due to her work with the Third Reich, and who drank the Kool Aid by the pint.  I’m talking about those who stayed behind either because they couldn’t find a way out, or because they didn’t want to leave, or because they were drinking just enough of the Kool Aid to think that things were fine in Germany and awful everywhere else, or because they hoped to attach their cart to what they saw as the right horse – or because of some combination of these things.

So: any ideas?  Whatever literature is out there, I assume, is likely to run to the alarmist and the black-and-white.  I am hoping that there’s at least a bit that acknowledges the grey area…because if not, I have a terrible feeling that I’m going to be compelled to write it myself.  And I really don’t want to have to do that, guys.  I’m an idiot.  I don’t know German.  Please help me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 2, 2016 by and tagged , , .
