more stars than in the heavens

not in our stars, but in ourselves

annus horribilis: 2016 in review

This isn’t one of those fun years to look back on, is it. Oh well. Let’s make that y-incision and get this autopsy underway.

5a77170fc611848059a7df1e80ae6b5e

What did you do in 2016 that you’d never done before?

I believed, for the first time in my life, that we might elect ourselves a president who had great ideas, who’d worked like hell all his life to improve things for his constituents, who even at his most problematic was always far more forgivable than nearly anyone else who’d ever worked alongside him in D.C., and who gave me a glimmer of hope that perhaps we would right ourselves in time to avoid the coming apocalypse.  You all know how that turned out.

What countries did you visit?

Costa Rica.  Since November 8th, I have also been frantically trying to figure out how to emigrate to another country (*cough* Australia *cough*), with or without a convenience marriage.

Love those boys.

Love those boys.

What date from 2016 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Remember, remember, the 8th of November.  In addition to everything else, it was the day I went down to Brooklyn to see the Chapo Trap House live show, and got to meet all those beautiful boys (and Amber too).  They’re lovely in person, incidentally.

Remember when :(

Remember when 😦

Whose behavior merited celebration?

Our tireless de facto opposition leader, Bernie Sanders.  The Chapo crew’s.  A very small group of friends, who have put up with me despite the fact that I’ve been plummeting into benthic levels of depression lately.

Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

There are too many people to name, but I would like to single out Hillary Clinton and her shitty, shitty campaign for dooming us all to oblivion.  Wander the woods forever, Hill.  You did this to us.

Where did most of your money go?

Rent and alcohol, almost certainly.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?

The only thing that stands out, unsullied and intact, is finally meeting a friend in real life whom I’ve known from the internet for over three years.  We got on famously, and I hope it’s not three years until we see each other again.

What song will always remind you of 2016?

There can only be one.

Compared to this time last year, are you

i. happier or sadder?: so much sadder lmao
ii. thinner or fatter?: same size, harder better faster stronger
iii. richer or poorer?: financially about the same; spiritually, far poorer

What do you wish you’d done more of?

Fleeing the country.

How will you be spending Christmas?

With my boyfriend’s family, I guess.  I don’t know.  I’ve never been a big fan of Christmas, and this year, I just want to skip the whole damn thing.

How will you be spending New Years Eve?

Drunk.

Did you fall in love in 2016?

[extremely Sidney Mussburger voice] sure, sure.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Lots of people.

tumblr_ogynv1wmeo1vh6uzio1_500

What was the best book you read?

Ava Gardner’s autobiography.

What was your greatest musical discovery?

The ballet version of Onegin, which is just about the only thing that makes me happy anymore.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2016?

The aforementioned friend whom I met this year told me I have great style, so whatever that means.

What kept you sane?

Not much.

c5e0d4b6e179dfd74cbf461f7e3b02e3

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Eris Nezha, beautiful and princely and strong-profiled principal dancer with the Boston Ballet.

Who was the best new person you met?

Zac.

 

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

A chill ran through me
And I grabbed on tight
That was when I left my body for good
And I shook off all the strength I’d earned

I wanted so badly not to be me
I wanted so badly not to be me
I saw my shadow looking lost
Checking its pockets for some lost receipt

Where did I leave that fire?
Where did I leave that fire?

3 comments on “annus horribilis: 2016 in review

  1. wordpooh
    February 4, 2017

    Where my blogger at?

    • mcwhirk
      February 4, 2017

      mehhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

      • wordpooh
        February 12, 2017

        ok, eeyore, so here’s the challenge…next friday is Miss Hart’s birthday. As you know, she loved a lot of the old timey classic movies. One of her favorite comedies was “The More the Merrier” with Jean Arthur. Your mission, if you choose to accept it, is to watch it. : p

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2016 by and tagged , , .
